10 September 2019 – Malaysia Rugby Union (MRU) in collaboration with the Perak State Government and the Perak Rugby Union will organize the National Rugby 7 Championship 2019, also known as National 7’s. The tournament will take place on September 14 and 15, 2019 in Padang Ipoh, Perak involving 44 teams of Malaysia Rugby Union affiliates including ATMs and PDRMs. A total cash prize of RM 30,000.00 (Thirty Thousand) is offered at this tournament.

The National Tournament held every year is a platform to select players to play for national team as well as the selection of rugby judges who are expected to be featured at a higher level in the future. In conjunction with the tournament, MRU in collaboration with the World Rugby Association will hold a Match Day Controller (MDC) Course to produce more tournament technical personnel to the CRM Associate.

This year, the Perak State Government through the Perak Chief Minister, Dato ‘Seri Ahmad Faizal bin Azumu and Youth and Sports Development Committee Chairman Howard Lee Chuan How has given full support to the two-day event in Padang Ipoh, Perak. The 5 categories will be contested such as the 2018 Men’s Core, Men’s Qualifier, Women’s Open, Men’s Under 20’s and Women’s Under 20’s where 44 teams have confirmed their entries to compete this year. For the Men Core category, the top 8 teams in 2018 will play in the main group. Whereas in the Men Qualifier (7 teams), Women Open (9 teams), Men Under 20 (13 teams) and Women Under 20 (9 teams) categories, all teams from KRM affiliates are invited to participate in the tournament.

His Highness the Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah Ibni Deceased Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah Al-Maghfur-Lah, D.K., D.K.S.A, D.K.A, D.M.N, D.K (Kelantan), D.K. (Selangor), D.K.N.S, D.K. (Perlis)., Ph.D. (Harvard) is set to witness the final match on September 15th, 2019 and present the prize to the winner

Mllions of thanks to the Perak State Government, Perak Rugby Union, KBS, MSN, ISN, UEM Group sponsors, Bank Islam, ATF Sport, Spoteqa, Try Zone and Kuckreja and Print and Electronic Media Partners for together in strengthening the sport of home rugby

Malaysia Rugby Union Director of Competition